World Christian Database

Netherlands Antilles

10th October, 2010: Netherlands Antilles officially ceases to exist.

Two of its former provinces (Curacao and St Maarten) have become autonomous countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands (like Aruba in 1986), and the other three (Bonaire, St Eustatius, and Saba) become autonomous special municipalities within the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

The presentation of the Netherlands Antilles will remain in the database until official UN population estimates for 1950-2050 are produced for the two new countries, and the municipalities are added into the Netherlands.